Chesterfield driver Steve Perez and Welsh co-driver Paul Spooner took a deserved victory on today’s Rainworth Skoda Forest Rally and in doing so, the triple National and Historic British Champion claimed his fourth win on his local event to match Andy Burton’s tally, while Spooner now sees his name in the record books as a five-time winner.

Driving the ex Marcus Gronholm Kick Energy Ford Focus WRC07, Perez led after all but one of the ten special stages on the Southwell Racecourse-based event which utilized the popular forest tracks of Sherwood Forest to claim maximum points in the 2014 REIS BTRDA Rally Series for the second time this season after victory in Somerset earlier this year.

Perez took the lead on SS1 by a single second and over the next few stages, edged ahead even further only to slip to second briefly on the first run through Clipstone. Soon, order was restored and four stage wins and a second place thereafter saw him reach the finish nearly half a minute ahead of rival Stephen Petch.

What it also means is that Perez is right in the mix for championship honours given the dropped scores points system and with a good string of results over the final five rounds, including next month’s Nicky Grist Stages, he can seriously challenge for the BRTDA crown he last won in 2010.

Steve Perez:  “Other than dropping some time on SS4 when we overshot a chicane, we had a pretty good run although conditions were very difficult and far from ideal. It’s great to equal Andy’s record of four wins and I’m delighted for Paul to gain his fifth win. I’m the only driver to have won two events in the BTRDA Series this year so hopefully we can continue that form into the remaining rounds and challenge for the title again.”

1 Steve Perez/Paul Spooner  – Ford Focus WRC  – 44:11
2 Stephen Petch/Ian Windress  – Ford Fiesta R5  – 44:40
3 Jamie Anderson/Chris Brooks  – Mitsubishi Evo 9  – 45:39
4 Pat Naylor/Ian Lawrence   – Mitsubishi Evo 9  – 45:51
5 Russ Thompson/Andy Murphy  – Mitsubishi Evo 9  – 46:23
6 Karl Simmons/Guy Simmons  – Subaru Impreza  – 46:48
7 Roland Llewellin/Jamie Edwards  – Mitsubishi Evo 9  – 47:26
8 Tom Preston/Jamie Forrest   – Mitsubishi Evo 9  – 48:12
9 Matthew Robinson/Sam Collis  – Ford Escort Mk2  – 48:21
10 Richard Lane/Frank Richer  – Ford Escort H3     – 50:12

Full details and results of the Rainworth Skoda Forest Rally are available on the event website,

Further information is available by following Steve Perez Rallying on Facebook and on Twitter @steveperezrallying. For further information on the company’s products, including Amigos beer, please and the team’s official rally website

Pictures (courtesy of Marcus Andrews):   Steve Perez and Paul Spooner on their way to victory on the Rainworth Skoda Forest Rally.

Recent Posts



ClayCreative Written by: